If you are facing a DUI second offense, it is crucial that you contact an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible. A second offense leads to consequences that are much more serious than for a first-time offense. This means more jail time, a longer driver’s license suspension, higher fines, and additional punishments.
Though it varies from state to state, many states will increase the penalties if a second DUI occurs within five years of the first drunk-driving offense.
For example, the penalties for a first DUI offense in California includes a mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail, fines of up to $1,400, 6-month driver’s license suspension, and 12-45 hours at DUI School. For a second offense, the penalties increase to up to a mandatory minimum of 96 hours in jail, fines of up to $1,800, a 2-year driver’s license suspension, and 18 months in DUI School.
In many states, second-time offenders may be ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles as a condition of probation or their license reinstatement. This device measures the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) before the automobile may start. If the driver’s BAC is over a preset limit, the car will not start and the court or probation office may be notified.
There are also punishment enhancements that can create additional penalties. For example, driving more than 20-30 miles over the speed limit, transporting a child while impaired, or causing injury or property damage will lead to increased fines and jail time. If a driver kills someone as a result of being under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol, he or she may be charged with vehicular manslaughter or even murder.
There are other consequences that can occur after a DUI second offense conviction. For example, your insurance rates may increase, if your insurance company doesn’t drop your coverage altogether. This doesn’t just apply to automobile insurance – your health and life insurance will be affected as well.
Have you recently been charged with a second DUI offense? If so, contact an experienced defense attorney as soon as you can. Your attorney will ensure that your rights are upheld as you navigate through the criminal court process.
|ID||Idaho||NH||New Hampshire||WA||Washington State|
|IN||Indiana||NM||New Mexico||WV||West Virginia|
|KY||Kentucky||NY||New York||DC||Washington DC|